
News
Rio Ferdinand stunned by what he’s told at half-time about Nicolas Jackson challenge on Takehiro Tomiyasu
Rio Ferdinand was left stunned by what he was told at half-time about the challenge from Nicolas Jackson on Arsenal defender Takehiro Tomiyasu on Tuesday.
Tuesday proved to be a nightmare evening for Chelsea. Mauricio Pochettino’s side were blown away by the Premier🍸 League leaders during the second-half at the Emirates.
Arsenal were relentless after the bre🔜ak having only led 1-0 beforehand. But Chelsea should have been dealt a big blow during the f😼irst 45 minutes.
Nicolas Jackson escaped punishment after a nasty challenge on Takehiro Tomiyasu which left the Arsenal🅠 defender in a heap🍸 on the floor.
Replays showed that it was an extremely poor challenge from Jackson, who has come in for a lot of criticism i💖n recent times as he continues to struggle to adapt to life at Chels🥃ea.
Rio Ferdinand stunned by what he was told about Nicolas Jackson challenge on Takehiro Tomiyasu
The Senegalese went ඣin with his studs up. And that saw Tomiyasu roll his ankle. The Arsenal man was arguably extremely fortunate to avoid a serious injury.
Play did resume quickly. And that prompted Rio Ferdinand to express his disbelief on (broadcast on 23/4; 20:54) after thinking that VAR 🧜could not have checked the chall♋enge.

Howeverꦿ, he was then informeꦰd that VAR did indeed have a look at the tackle before deciding that no further action was needed.
“Wow, I’d love them to come 💯and explain that to me please,” he said.
VAR continues to completely baffle fans
This is one instance which helps explain why the use of VAR baffles so many. Ultimately, Jackson could ha💎ve had no complaints at all if he had been shown a red card.
It was certainly worth a longer ෴look than it seemed to ꦿget.
And it is completely bizarre that a decision can be reviewed in that manner and it does not see Jackson at least🎀 booked.
Of course, that is not down to the VAR. The referee should have had an idea of how bad a challenge it was. But it is also out ♐of his control to subsequently book the Chelsea striker.
Thankfully for Arsenal, t📖he decision did not come back to haunt them as they thrashed the Blues.